“Favorite Things” Farfalle

When I first began experimenting with my own recipes, I would start by thinking of my absolute favorite ingredients and how they could work in a dish together.  After a handful of different combinations, I have come up with, what I call, my “Favorite Things” Farfalle.  It includes some of the best ingredients on earth: basil, pine nuts, tomatoes, cheese, pasta and garlic!  This has been husband tested and approved, so I think you (and whoever you cook for) will love it as well!

“Favorite Things” Farfalle
Ingredients:
1 14.5 oz box of Farfalle (I use Barilla Plus)
1 24 oz jar spaghetti sauce (I use Barilla Marinara)
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes (I use Hunt’s Diced Tomatoes w/ Basil, Garlic & Oregano)
3 oz pine nuts
1 yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup shaved Parmesan
1/4 cup torn fresh basil
1 tablespoon olive oil

1.  Cook pasta in boiling water.  I cook the Barilla Plus Farfalle for a minute less than called for (in this case cooking for 9 minutes) so that it is nice and al dente.

2.  While pasta works, saute onion and garlic in olive oil in large saute pan until onion starts to get transparent (about 7 minutes).  Add canned tomatoes and spaghetti sauce to pan.   Simmer on low for about 10 minutes.

3.  Drain pasta and return to pot.  Mix pasta, sauce, pine nuts, Parmesan and torn basil together.  Extra Parmesan and basil can be used for garnish once served :).

by Kelsey Graves
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Favorite Things” Farfalle

  1. Dorothy says:

    Kelsey! What a fun blog–and this pasta looks yummy! I love fresh basil in pasta, and the shaved parmesan looks so pretty on top!

  2. Thanks Dorothy :). You have a great blog too! I need to try some of your recipes soon!

  3. Kayla Rike says:

    Kels- This looks great! We were SO in need of a fresh pasta idea! I actually said “I hate pasta” last week… yep, that bad. I can’t do the cheese, or pine nuts, but everything else sounds great, and I love that the sauce doesn’t seem to overpower the dish. I may add some baby bellas to mine, too. Thank you!

  4. Kayla – I don’t think the words “I hate pasta” should ever be allowed to be uttered?!! Hopefully you enjoy this sauce so that you can reintroduce it to your life soon!

Leave a comment