Bacon and Cheddar Grits

I am an Indiana girl, so I was not exposed to grits until I went to college down south in Birmingham, Alabama.  Unfortunately, my first experience with grits was in a college cafeteria and I vowed my first taste would also be my last.  It was not until I moved to Chicago that I was reintroduced to grits at restaurants like Province (Farm Raised Shrimp and Anson Mills Organic Grits w/ Manchego Cheese), Bakin’ & Eggs (Cheese Grits) and Wishbone (Cheese Grits).  These grits were different with a wonderful texture and SO cheesy and delicious!  I am now happy to say I am somewhat of a “grits connoisseur” mainly because I order them whenever I see them on a menu :).

I was unsure of how my first attempt at homemade grits would turn out, but with the help of an Everyday Food recipe it was surprisingly easy!  Give it a shot on a cold weekend morning and it will warm your belly and your soul.

Bacon & Cheddar Grits
Ingredients:
4 slices bacon, finely chopped
1 cup quick-cooking grits (I used Quaker Grits)
1 1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar
Salt & Peppar

1.  In a medium saucepan, cook chopped bacon over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until bacon is browned (about 8 minutes).  With a slotted spoon, transfer bacon to a small bowl lined with a paper towel.  Remove pan from heat and carefully add 4 1/2 cups water.

2.  Bring liquid to a boil over high and whisk in 1 cup quick-cooking grits.  Whisk until mixture begins to thicken, then reduce heat to low and gently simmer, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking, 15 minutes or until creamy.

3.  Season with coarse salt and ground pepper.  Whisk in 1 cup grated cheddar and 3/4 of the bacon.  Pour into a 2-quart serving dish and top with 1/2 cup cheddar and remaining bacon.

Serves 4.

Source: Everyday Food

This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bacon and Cheddar Grits

  1. Carolyn says:

    An EDF recipe right off the bat? Scandalous 🙂 Sounds delicious either way – can’t wait to try it.

Leave a comment